Valedictory function of State Billiards, Snooker C’ship held

HVR Sports   page12 213 300x172 Valedictory function of State Billiards, Snooker C’ship held
December 29, 2015
HVR Sports   page12 213 300x172 Valedictory function of State Billiards, Snooker C’ship held

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 21: Secretary, State Sports Council, Jawaid Shah today assured improved playing facilities in cue game by upgrading the existing infrastructure available for the Billiards and Snooker in Jammu and Srinagar.
Secretary was speaking to the winners and runners-up of various events and other participants at the valedictory function of the 22nd State Billiards and Snooker Championship at Billiards Hall, MA Stadium, here today.
He said, “Considering the demand came from chairman of the J&K Billiards and Snooker Association, Siddharth Sharma, the State Sports Council shall upgrade the existing infrastructure for the cue game at both Jammu and Srinagar in phased manners. Finding players only from twin capital districts, my advice to the Association is to spread their activities also to other districts of the State.”
Earlier, Secretary, J&K State Sports Council gave away the title trophies to winners of senior, junior and sub-junior in both billiards and snooker events.
However, winners of senior billiards and snooker events, Sohail Khalid and Yunis Kuchey could not receive the prizes in view of their engagements with All India Forests Sports Meet.  Yunis was also awarded for highest break of 82 in Senior Snooker.
Besides Secretary, the function was attended by Joint Secretary, State Sports Council, Shiv Kumar Sharma, who was guest of honour. Also present were president of the Association, Sanjeev Gupta and general secretary, Vishal Abrol. Jaideep Manocha was organising secretary of this over a fortnight long competition. The matches were conducted under the supervision of marker, Rakesh Sharma.
The Results:
Sub-junior Billiards: Sanand Sharma, winner and Basit Wani, runners-up. Sub-Junior Snooker: Arjun Singh, winner and Basit Wani, runners-up. Junior Billiards: Kanav Manva, winner and Mandeep Singh, runners-up. Junior Snooker: Momin Mehraj, winner and Rohit Sharma, runners-up. Senior Billiards: Sohail Khalid, winner and Nikhil Kapahi, runners-up. Senior Snooker: Yunis Kuchey, winner and Rahil Bhatt, runners-up.